Best Guidelines On Food Grade Stainless Steel Cookware: May 2022.

Any professional cooking experts always use standard food grade stainless steel cookware for their culinary uses.

There is no doubt every stainless steel don’t have the same potential. The variety of stainless steel you can watch 300 series, 400 series or even the 200 series.

Food grade standard stainless steel are highly durable and have scratch resistant power, not affected with weather changing; even doesn’t react with foods or adding flavor to the recipes. The 316 surgical alloy comes under the 300 series which perfectly maintain the food grade standard.

Moreover, different types of stainless steel has different potential; like scratch resistant, compatibility with weather. If you go to “Amazon” or any other online or off line market place, you will watch the same brand is producing stainless steel cookware with different gauge number 18/0, 18/10, 18/8, etc. Every types has some special specification.

Everything About Stainless Steel.

It’s comes from ferric (iron) based alloy family. The basic steel alloy contain little bit carbon; but, it’s much harder than the iron; and, also react with oxygen and water, get rust/ stain. Chromium is the element which added with steel alloy and make it stainless steel.

Any basic stainless steel cookware contain nearly 11% chromium in terms or weight. Moreover, There are other elements like nickel, molybdenum, nitrogen, silicon are also added to produces different quality stainless steel.

The Chromium amount proportionally increases the corrosion resistant power, prevents from rusting. The nitrogen and Molybdenum increases the pitting resistant (PR); higher PR no mean higher corrosion resistant power.

The food grade standard stainless steel contain 8% nickel, 16% or more chromium, molybdenum and in few cases titanium, silicon are also added.

The Family History of Stainless Steel:

There are 5 main family of stainless steel

1. Austenitic Stainless Steel:

This types of stainless steel comes under the food grade standard.

200 Series:

In 200 series increases the amount of magnesium and nitrogen and decreases the nickel alloy, which ultimately decreases the stainless steel corrosion resistant power. But, it’s much harder as compared to the 300 series stainless steel.

There are 2 types 201 & 202; These stainless steel are mainly used in Dishwasher, Washing machine, Automobile, etc.

300 Series:

The 300 Series is made of high-quality German stainless steel with a polished finish.

300 Series Stainless Steel, also known as Type 304, is a core alloy of stainless steel that serves as an excellent base for the addition of chromium, nickel, and molybdenum. The addition of these three elements makes a high-quality alloy that contains 18% chromium, 8% nickel, and 1.0% molybdenum.

400 Series:

The Steel 400-series is a range of high quality cookware materials. It is made from iron with reduced amounts of impurities making it the most popular and sought after iron in cookware because it gives excellent performance and does not lose its qualities even after long periods of use. In addition to this, it is very affordable.

2. Ferrite stainless steel:

3. Martens-Tic Stainless Steels:

4. Duplex Stainless Steels:

5. Precipitation Hardening:


Read More :

Stainless steel pots & pans are perfect for electric stove.

Carbon steel vs stainless steel.

Are stainless steel pans are better oven safe?

Leave a Comment